Yanabah Tea

I’ve had the great opportunity to travel through some Navajo Land in Albuquerque and Arizona (United States), on a Road Trip that took me to San Francisco.

In the next Posts I’ll try to describe the places I’ve been but today I want to talk about the Navajo Tea.

It comes from the plant Thelesperma Megapotamicum, which is brewed with hot water and settled for a few minutes. This plant grows from Arizona to Montana at or above the 4,000 foot level (1.200 meters). And it’s usually harvested from June to August.

This tea has also some medical benefits as for example:

  • It contains Luteolin, that has many qualities as anti-inflammatory and anti-oxidant
  • It calms an upset stomach or prevents from getting a cold when winter comes.
  • It has also been used to alleviate pain from a toothache

The name of this tea comes from an old navajo woman: Yanabah. She and her family made traditional tea bundles with the stems, then hung them up and dried.
You can read wonderful stories about Yanabah and her granddaughter at this Website: Yanabah Tea
I have tasted it and I can say

  • it’s very soft,
  • it does not become bitter if you leave the tea in the water too long
  • it has a relaxing smell
  • and when I drink it, I feel I’m back there to Navajo Land

I strongly recommend it!!

Esta entrada fue publicada en Ocio y etiquetada , , . Guarda el enlace permanente.

Responder

